Happy St. Patty’s Day from GWG! Erin go bragh!

Devouring lemon scones!I love Ireland for many reasons, but certainly the most recent reason is how much fun I had while I was there in January. I was flying to Scotland and my layover was in Dublin. (And the most permanent piece of evidence for my love of Ireland: I got my tattoo right after St. Patrick’s Day 2010 in Dublin.) But back to my Dublin adventures in January. My math is a little rusty, but I think airport security could take anywhere from 15 minutes to 30 hours, so I wanted to give myself plenty of time to make my flight for Scotland. I decided I had about 4 hours to travel from the airport to Dublin center and back. Knowing my tendency for getting lost, I didn’t want to do any tourist attractions that were too crazy, so I settled on grabbing lunch and walking around Trinity College to check out the Book of Kells.

In addition to my own travels to Ireland, Amanda and I went to the University of Dayton– a campus that, for better or for worse, is known for their St. Patrick’s Day celebrations. But there are more ways to enjoy March 17th festivities that don’t involve police in riot gear. Cue up lemon irish scones and subsequent drooling…

The Grooves

Ireland has an amazing music scene, especially for buskers just starting out. (Dublin was ranked the third best city in the world for buskers.) And when you’re walking down the street and you hear the licks of Gabriela y Rodrigo‘s guitars grace your ears, you know the competition for playing space must be stiff. For the playlist, I decided to pick my favorite Irish musician from each decade since the 1970s.

The Grub

I’ve had many scones throughout my days, but I tend to think of them as dry and crumbly. That certainly wasn’t the case with these guys! The traditional mix in for irish scones would be currants or raisins, but I decided to use lemon zest because I love lemon flavored baked goods with the additional bonus that I already had some lemon zest in the pantry.

I followed this recipe from Kerrygold butter, but I added a couple of tweaks of my own.

Ingredients:lemon scone ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups (about 8 ounces) all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar, plus additional for sprinkling over tops
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 tablespoons lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 large egg, plus additional beaten egg for brushing over tops

Directions:
Heat oven to 425° F. Sift together flour, 1/4 cup sugar, baking powder and salt into large bowl. Using fingertips or pastry blender, rub or cut the butter into flour mixture to form coarse crumbs. Add lemons wasting. Whisk together milk and 1 egg. Make a well in the flour mixture; pour in milk mixture. Using fork, stir just until soft, moist dough is formed.

Turn dough out onto lightly floured surface; gently knead 1 or 2 times to incorporate loose pieces of dough. (Do not over knead.) Pat dough to 1 1/2-inch thickness. Using well-floured 2 1/2-inch biscuit cutter or bottom of a glass, cut out about 6 rounds, recombining scraps as necessary. Place rounds on lightly buttered baking sheet. Brush tops with additional beaten egg; sprinkle with additional sugar.

Bake until golden brown, about 17 minutes.

Enjoy!!

lemon scone going into oven lemon scone cutting dough lemon scone coming out of oven

One thought on “Happy St. Patty’s Day from GWG! Erin go bragh!

Leave a Reply

