Grooving and Grubbing Locally: Florida Feasting & The BlueFire Band

Lauderdale-By-The-Sea

Over Thanksgiving (I know…this post is a little overdue), I went on a nice and relaxing vacation to Florida with my family. We stayed near two of my favorite Florida fooding spots: Lauderdale-By-The-Sea and Clearwater Beach. While we didn’t have a traditional Thanksgiving meal, we did some proper feasting fit for the Holiday’s reputation of face-stuffing. A borderline unhealthy amount of feasting. But there was so much to try and so little time and that’s what vacation is for….at least in our book.

There weren’t any good shows going on that I was aware of while we were in town. However, we fortunately got to catch a local jazz rock band, The BlueFire Band, in Lauderdale-By-The-Sea one night after dinner. They were very impressive and I’m very grateful we randomly discovered them. I was able to get a few decent videos on my phone – check ’em out below.

{Local Grub}

As usual, I could ramble on about every meal, but to keep things short and sweet here is a list of my absolute favorites:

  • Keegan’s Seafood Grille – Thanks to Guy, my parents discovered this place on a previous trip. The Char Broiled Octopus had me speechless. SO GOOD.
  • Aruba Beach Cafe – Pretty much everything. Highly recommed the Coconut Shrimp, Mahi Mahi Sandwich, and their drinks too! Great Piña Colada.
  • Maggie Mae’s – Wonderful breakfast/casual brunch spot right on the bay. Down-to-earth atmosphere and amazing food. Cajun Style Fish Po’ Boy and the Hillbilly Taters.
  • Columbia Restaurant – Also right on the bay, but a bit less casual. 1905 Salad, Paella, and their Sangria and Mojitos are the best.

{Local Grooves}

If you’re ever in Florida and have the opportunity to catch the BlueFire Band, do it. They are all really talented and have a contagiously energetic stage presence. You’ll hear a handful of classics that are done with great musicianship and BlueFire’s own unique twist. The violinist is fantastic and I can now say I’ve heard excellent live blues performed on a violin. Check out these short clips I took while digging their tunes:

Leave a Reply

