The Morning Groove: Van Morrison with Lemon Vanilla Crêpes

Morning Groove - Solid BreakfastGrowing up, whenever we would put on a Van Morrison record or if he happened to come on the radio, my dad would tell us how Van the Man was his “Morning Groooooove.” When he was a young man in the Navy, he and his shipmates would jam out to Van Morrison while completing their early morning tasks. So naturally whenever I hear his music, I automatically think of the morning and therefore, BREAKFAST (or BRUNCH if you like to sleep in like me). My dad makes great French Toast, but we already did a post on that in March so I figured I would whip up another favorite: Crêpes or “Palatschinke” as my family would call them.

The Grooves

Van’s distinct voice overflows with soul and his music is filled with a unique energy that no one can come close to replicating. Similar to this wonderful meal, his songs are soothing, full of substance, and seamlessly blend together a variety of styles. Van is appropriate for many occasitons, but I agree with my dad that his collective sound makes for a fantastic morning grooooove 🙂

Here’s a sampling of Van the Man to enjoy during your Breakfast/Brunch prep and feasting. What are some of your favorite VM songs? What do you consider your “Morning Groove.”

The Grub

A few Saturdays ago, I picked up some Great Lakes Christmas Ale Bacon from The Pork Chop Shop in the West Side Market and made some brunch for my roommate and neighbor once we got back. Since everything besides the crêpes is pretty standard, I’m not going to write out a full recipe for each item. I simply fried up the bacon in one pan and fried the chopped up redskin potatoes in another. I usually season my breakfast potatoes with salt, pepper, garlic (minced or powder), paprika, and a pinch of cayenne. Once the bacon was finished, I removed it from the pan and then started frying the eggs in the remaining oil.

Morning Groove - Christmas Ale Bacon     Morning Groove - Eggs Cooking In Christmas Ale Bacon Grease :)

{Kitchen Tip} If you’re a carnivore and love bacon, SAVE YO’ BACON GREASE. You can save it for later or you can cook your eggs in it! Yes, it’s moderately unhealthy, but that’s not exactly what I was going for with this meal and sometimes…you gotta feed the soul. It makes those already deliciously perfect, fried sunny-side-up eggs even more wonderful and glorious. Especially when it’s Great Lakes Christmas Ale style – Although, it was quite the chore cleaning the cinnamon-sugared pan.

A lot of people would argue that you need a crêpe pan to make a proper crêpe. While this is probably true, you can still make decent ones if you have a large enough pan that has a low enough rim and can be handled well. My Oma had a fantastic palatschinke pan and I hope I can find one similar soon, but my standard frying pans and skillets will have to do for now.

Lemon Vanilla Crepes - IngredientsIngredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1.5 cups milk (I used almond milk)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbs sugar
  • 1-2 pinches of salt
  • 1 tbs oil

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together and lightly beat for a few minutes.
  2. Heat and lightly grease pan – I used butter
  3. Remove pan from burner, place medium-sized ladle of batter into pan, and swirl around so it spreads to cover bottom of pan.
  4. Once underside is slightly browned, carefully flip over to cook other side. Remove from heat, stack, repeat, and enjoy.
  5. Garnish or fill with powered sugar, jam, fruit, sauce, etc. Since these ones already have the lemon vanilla flavor, I kept it simple with a small sprinkling of powdered sugar and folded it up twice into a small triangle. However, I prefer my fruit and jam filled crepes/palatschinke rolled 🙂

Lemon Vanilla Crepes - Batter     Lemon Vanilla Crepes - Cooking

Leave a Reply

